Who We Are

About US

The Ethiopian Red Cross Society (ERCS) is a part of the International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement, a global humanitarian network comprising 80 million individuals dedicated to assisting those affected by disasters, conflicts, and health and social issues. ERCS was established on July 8, 1935, in response to the second Italian invasion of Ethiopia, providing humanitarian services to wounded soldiers and civilians. In the same year, it was officially recognized as the 48th member of the International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies.


The patron of the society shall be the President of the Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia.

The President shall extend all the necessary assistance to the Society in the attainment of its purposes, in securing wider public acceptance and in promoting its activities.


The National Governing Board of the Society consists of nine members elected by the General Assembly, with one member representing the youth. When electing Governing Board members, efforts should be made to ensure diversity in terms of gender, experience, and professional backgrounds. At least two of the Board members must be women. Members of the National Governing Board serve a four-year term; provided that a member at any level may be re-elected at the expiry of his term of office.

Where We Work

Currently, the Society’s operational structure includes 12 regional offices, 34 zonal branches, and 132 district (Woreda) branches. Additionally, there are over 5,800 Kebele Red Cross Committees operating at the grassroots level. This is how it outreaches its humanitarian services across the nation.